Movie Poster of the Week: Banal Destination

final_destinationI’m usually not a big fan of these new horror/thrillers that Hollywood has been forced down our throats since “Scream” but I’ve grown to enjoy the Final Destination series.  Where most movies try to evolve and innovate, FD is just a movie wherein you can find some of the most creative ways attractive people can die.  I’ve always questioned the motivations of a filmmaker that would rather use a series of Rube Goldberg machines rather than a knife or a scythe to kill unsuspecting victims but I’ve seemed to get used to it.

My only gripe with this new film is the title.  Unlike the previous Final Destinations, this Final Destination totally rids itself of that crazy numerical sequel naming convention and is titled THE Final Destination.  I’m not sure what has started this trend, but I’ll blame Fast And Furious, until I find a worse offender.  I’m not exactly sure what the meaning of THE is in relation to this title, but I’d imagine this could be the last…uh…Final Destination.  I am happy that the series hasn’t devolved into the subtitle game (Final Destination: Exploding Things) which is very popular in Tinseltown (as well as this blog, as you can read above).

Plus, how entertaining was it to watch someone get killed by a nailgun that wasn’t even held by anyone?

Leave a comment